Board of Directors

EFPD Board
The Evergreen Fire Protection District (EFPD) is a Special District as established in the Colorado Statutes. The Special District Statutes can be found in Title 32 here.

Special Districts were created in recognition of the fact that Colorado communities have developed within natural areas and don’t necessarily follow county boundaries. Special Districts are formed to serve a specific function (such as Fire and EMS services), and have taxing powers over the land owners within their boundaries. One third of the EFPD is in Clear Creek County and two thirds is in Jefferson County. In both counties, the District consists of “unincorporated” land, with no government below the county level.

The EFPD is managed by a Board of Directors consisting of five volunteer members, elected by the voters in the district. The current board members are:

  • Stacey Ballinger (President)
  • John Putt (Vice President)
  • Evan Jeffries (Secretary)
  • Julie Ann Courim (Treasurer)
  • Suzanne Campagna (Board Member)

EFPD Board Members Biographies
Stacey Ballinger – President
Stacey Ballinger secretary
Mrs. Ballinger has been a resident of Jefferson County her entire life. She grew up in Applewood, raised her family in Lakewood and now lives in Evergreen where she plans on living the rest of her days. She and her husband are second generation owners in a family-run company that has been in business for 49 years, they’ve owned it for 19. She manages the human resources and financial department. They have 4 daughters. 

John Putt – Vice President
John Putt vice president
Mr. Putt has been a resident of Evergreen since December 1967. He retired as a paramedic/firefight after 35 years of service. He is a co-owner of Windermere Real Estate Services of Evergreen. His background includes the education and design of Emergency Management programs for Fire/Law/EMS/Hospital agencies funded by the Colorado Dept. of Public Health and Environment. He is a subject matter expert for the Colorado Division of Homeland Security, Colorado Department of Emergency Management and Colorado Department of Public Safety Emergency Operations Center.

Evan Jeffries – Secretary
E Jeffries headshot - Copy
Evan Jeffries' family has ranched in Evergreen since 1863, first visiting in 1860 and building what is now the Evans Ranch. His ancestry is strong through the whole Upper Bear Creek valley and Evergreen as a whole. He grew up summers ranching with his grandma and uncle on Bear Creek which spurred his interest in cattle ranching and firefighting. He has fond memories of tagging along with his uncle while responding on fire calls during his youth on the ranch.

He joined the fire service in 2004 as a volunteer in Woodburn, Oregon during college; he was hired by the City and County of Denver Fire Department as a full-time firefighter in 2006 and presently serves as an Engineer on Truck 12 with DFD; and he served on the Evergreen Volunteer Fire Department from 2012-18. 

Evan has been a life-long entrepreneur. He has been critical in the startup of local companies and continues to help build out principle-based companies that support the local economies they surround.

Julie Ann Courim – Treasurer
julie courim treasurer
Mrs. Courim has been an Evergreen resident since 2017 and mountain corridor community member for 24 years. She has 8 previous years of fire board experience with neighboring Foothills Fire & Rescue. She currently serves on the Soda Creek HOA Board and as an ambassador for the Fillius Park/Soda Creek CWPIP. She is an Information Technology and Project Management consultant with over 30 years’ experience working with local governments and public sector entities. She has an MBA in Finance & Marketing from CSU.

Suzanne Campagna – Board Member